the shack.

02Apr10

It’s been a while since I’ve posted. It started with a 12-day trip to Florida for my sister-in-law’s wedding. That was enough to get me out of my routine, several weeks later I am just now getting back to my personal schedule – this blog included.

On the flight back from Florida, I finally finished William P. Young’s The Shack. (Yes, I know that I’m about the last person on earth to read this.) It was a hard read for me. I’ve discovered that I’ve gotten into a rut with the things I’ve been reading lately, and I kind of like it. This book did not fall into that rut. The Shack is of course fiction, and most people I know really enjoy getting lost in a story and using their imagination to paint the picture. Being a creative person, I feel that I should be in this category as well – but I’m not. Not right now anyway.

Though intrigued, I struggled getting “lost” in this story. After while, this book turned more into a burden than anything. I had heard mostly good things from people about this book, but one person I had talked to really disliked it. This was one of the main reasons why I finally decided to give it a shot, and maybe that’s the reason why it was so hard for me to get through. Much of it was too distracting to me and I kept wanting to get down to the meat & potatoes of it. As I got further along, I began having really weird dreams. I can’t distinctly remember them now but I remember that they involved the characters of Jesus and Papa/God from the book. A couple of times after reading before bed, I wouldn’t be able to fall asleep – or sometimes I would awake panicking and just lay there. After several of these situations I began to think that God was possibly communicating with me, but I didn’t know what or why. The whole experience was odd.

Though I did not agree with everything that Young wrote, specifically a couple of mentions about the Bible and it’s purpose, I did like how much he emphasized how personal Jesus and God are and how our relationships with them are meant to be. I’ve quit having the dreams, and I am currently reading The Karma of Jesus by Mark Herringshaw. I have not come to any conclusions about why reading this book was such a struggle and why I had so many weird occurrences. I guess I just wanted to share.

peace, kevin.

No Responses Yet to “the shack.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

