I love spirituality, but I hate religion.

03Dec09

I’m currently reading Samir Selmanovic’s “It’s Really All About God: Reflections of a Muslim Atheist Jewish Christian.” This book is the finger that points right in your face! And the second that you start to tell yourself that he’s not talking to you, or that your situation is different, the very next sentence will literally speak to you. At least that’s what I’ve experienced so far, half-way through the book. I plan to give a short overview of the book when I finish it, so I will keep this brief. I am not happy with the current status of the church. When I say that, it’s not because I am not happy with it for my own reasons necessarily. I am not happy with the way people view the church, nobody’s fault but it’s own, but I’m also unhappy and saddened with people’s attitudes  and the way we treat eachother, christian or not – or however you want to word that. I’ve said several times that I don’t believe that what society sees as christianity represents my belief in God, nor does any denomination or church that I’ve experienced. Samir writes that “Spirituality without religion can be frightfully undemanding.” I’m sure we all know of someone who makes-up their own religion and decides that what they think is best, is what will happen to people. Even myself, I sometimes feel that I start idealizing in my head of how things should be and create my own direction – not much is being demanded of me without religion. Just like Samir, I want to be clear, that religion is not God – religion itself can actually be one of our most destructive idols. He later points out that the phrase ” I love spirituality, but I hate religion” is no different than saying “I love knowledge, but I hate education.” Education is there to make us hungry for knowledge, so shouldn’t religion make us hungry for eternal life? If this book has taught me anything thus far, it has shown me how big, abstract and unknown God is. The mere fact that we ever feel comfortable about who God is or religion… this is about the least faithful act that we are capable. For years now I’ve thought that I’ve had religion figured out, especially the christian religion that I have grown up with. I’ve also separated God and religion, I viewed religion more like a political party. We are not allowing God to be God when we try to manage him, size him or understand him. Like Cody from As Cities Burn sings in the song Clouds, “Is your god really God? Is my god really God? I think our god isn’t God, If he fits inside our heads.” So, my outlook on God is now becoming as abstract as a Jackson Pollock painting – it cannot be contained and the thought of me thinking that I understand it shows not only that I don’t, but that I am not aware of the greatness that it is in whole.

peace. kev

3 Responses to “I love spirituality, but I hate religion.”

  1. 1 Smoodock

    Good post! Just wanted to say I think I understand how you feel. Stay close to Jesus and you can’t go wrong, no matter what ‘religion’ says. God bless.

  2. Interesting post-now that you’re belief in god is conceptually abstract, then to define ones religiosity as a particular (Christianity, Islam, Judaism, etc…), does that not employ a dichotomous conjecture?

  3. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this article plus the rest of the website is very good.


Leave a Reply

