Jerry Seinfeld, the best show I’ve ever been to.

17Nov09

My wife Loran bought me tickets to see Jerry Seinfeld who recently came to Minneapolis. The tickets were a birthday present, my birthday was in September, so I’ve been waiting a little while for this show! It was at the Orpheum theater in downtown mpls, surprisingly. I had never been to this theater. It was really nice – authentic, hand panted details and the seats where rickety yet still comfortable. Although we just about had the “worst” seats in the house int he second-to-last row in the balcony, they were still  good. I could hear and see everything that Jerry did (and his smirk that he always has when he’s telling a joke). We met one of my coworkers and her husband across the street for dinner at the Rock Bottom Brewery beforehand. There was an opening comedian, I forget his name – he was pretty funny. Then the lights went out and the place was black, the next thing I knew the man himself was literally running out onto stage, sliding on his feet as he approached the microphone. JERRY!!! I thought to myself, it’s actually him! The next hour and a half was filled with non-stop laughing, clapping and slapping of my wife’s leg to clarify that she heard each joke and realized how hilarious they were. Maybe you’re not a fan of the show Seinfeld, but I am and I don’t think that Jerry has changed a bit from who he was on that show… still the same ol’ Jerome Seinfeld, but older. Midway through the show with my perm-a-smile and all, I thought to myself, this is so much fun, almost perfect. Everyone of Jerry’s jokes was a typical Seinfeld classic because his jokes are based off of the everyday-things that we don’t think are funny. You could tell that every single person in the sold-out theater could relate somehow to his jokes. One after another, without a stutter or a lapse in memory, Jerry killed it. Even when the disruptive hecklers would randomly yell “Kramer” or “Shout House”, he would handle it so well and keep moving without any hesitation. The show came to an end, I found myself standing up with the rest of the standing ovation in the theater clapping my hands as fast as I could. Out came Jerry for an encore, he walked up to the mic as said “Now is the time for questions if you have any”. There were some good questions, and then there was the lady yelling “Kramer” again. Jerry shared that his favorite Seinfeld episodes were the one where he steals the rye bread from the old lady and the episode where Kramer hits a golf ball into the whale’s blow-hole. With my stomach muscles aching from laughing so hard, we left the theater and met-up with our friends to discuss how good it was. I would definitely say that we got our money worth. This was an opportunity of a lifetime and I am never going to forget seeing Jerry! The day after the show, I was thinking about how awesome it was and I was trying to remember some of the jokes that he said, like his bit about automatic toilet flushers, pop tarts and iphones. Even though I was 100% completely satisfied with the show, it made me realize that even experiencing one of my dreams-come-true, it really had no true value to me. I get the same amount of happy feelings when I go out to coffee with a friend, or when I have a deep conversation with someone, but these interactions bring me true joy, joy of the heart that the God’s love is a part of. Theses interactions have the ability to draw others closer to the truth, and I know for sure they definitely motivate and help me to try to live a life of love. Basically, what I’m trying to get at is that the best shows, cars, apple computers, etc. aren’t of any value when you understand life’s real purpose. I’m not quite there yet, but I feel like I understand what seems to me to be the tip-of-the-iceberg when it comes to life’s purpose and what that really entails, aside from “living for Jesus” or some other vague, christian phrase that gets thrown around.  With that being said, if you ever have the opportunity to see Jerry Seinfeld, do it!

peace, kevin.

2 Responses to “Jerry Seinfeld, the best show I’ve ever been to.”

  1. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Radely do I encounter a
    blog that’s bopth eduative and amusing, and let me tell you,
    you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something which too few men aand women are
    speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy
    that I stumbled across this in my seafch for something relating to this.

  2. That iss a great tipp partiularly to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very precise information… Appreciate yor sharing
    this one. A must read post!


Leave a Reply

